Postdoctoral Training

The Buck Institute administers an NIH-sponsored postdoctoral research training program in basic aging research and age-related disease. The program provides postdoctoral fellows with stipends to work in any of the laboratories at the Buck Institute, and selected laboratories at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Stanford University and the University of California in Berkeley.

Information about the program and how to apply for support is given  below.

NIH Training Grant T32 AG000266

The current and future increase in the aged population will require extensive research to understand the underlying mechanisms responsible for age-related diseases and aging. It is, therefore, important to train young scientists in modern research disciplines that will promote excellent basic and translational aging research that will enhance the development of novel therapeutics to improve health in the aging population. Understanding the molecular mechanisms responsible for aging and age-related diseases requires knowledge and experience in the design of optimum research strategies and state-of-the-art integrated and interdisciplinary research approaches. This training program provides postdoctoral fellows with advanced research training in modern disciplines, including functional genomics, epigenomics, proteomics, molecular biology, cell biology, bioenergetics, chemical screening, microanatomy and powerful cellular and animal models.

The proposed training for fellows at the Buck Institute for Research on Aging, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Stanford University and University of California, Berkeley provides unique faculty expertise.

Trainees will gain knowledge in basic aging mechanisms, and age-related diseases, including neurodegenerative diseases, stroke, cancer, cardiovascular disease, metabolic disorders, sarcopenia and others. Trainees will gain skills in critical thinking to evaluate new research findings. In addition, trainees will receive instruction in written and verbal skills to enrich their publications, grant proposals, and oral presentations. Ongoing seminar series, basic science and clinical lectures, well-organized journal clubs, and research meetings will provide up-to-date information and intellectual cross-fertilization. 

Location

The primary home of the training program is the Buck Institute for Research on Aging, located in Novato, California. Postdoctoral trainees may work under the primary supervision of any Buck Institute faculty or selected faculty at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), Stanford University or the University of California in Berkeley (UCB). The research will be conducted at the location of the primary preceptor. Please see the list below for eligible preceptors and apply directly to the preceptor.  

Applicants should select a preceptor from the list below:

PRECEPTORS

Name

Title

Affiliation

Email address

Andersen, J

Professor

 Buck Institute

 jandersen@buckinstitute.org

Artandi, S

Professor

 Stanford University

 sartandi@stanford.edu

Benz, C

Professor

 Buck Institute

 cbenz@buckinstitute.org

Blau, H

Professor

 Stanford University

 hblau2@stanford.edu

Brand, M

Professor

 Buck Institute

 mbrand@buckinstitute.org

Brem, R

Associate Professor

 Buck Institute

 rbrem@buckinstitute.org

Brunet, A

Professor

 Stanford University

 abrunet1@stanford.edu

Campisi, J

Professor

 Buck Institute

 jcampisi@buckinstitute.org

Chang, H

Professor

 Stanford University

 howchang@stanford.edu

Chen, D

Associate Professor

 UCB

 danicac@berkeley.edu

Chua, K

Associate Professor

 Stanford University

 kfchua@stanford.edu

Conboy, I

Associate Professor

 UCB

 iconboy@berkeley.edu

Dillin, A

Professor

 UCB

 dillin@berkeley.edu

Ellerby, L

Professor

 Buck Institute

 lellerby@buckinstitute.org

Frydman, J

Professor

 Stanford University

 jfrydman@stanford.edu

Garrison, J

 Assistant Professor

 Buck Institute

 jgarrison@buckinstitute.org

Haghighi, P

Professor

 Buck Institute

 phaghighi@buckinstitute.org

Huang, T

Associate  Professor

Stanford University

 tthuang@stanford.edu

Jagust, W

Professor

 UCB

 jagust@berkeley.edu

Kapahi, P

Professor

 Buck Institute

 pkapahi@buckinstitute.org

Kaufer, D

Associate Professor

 UCB

 danielak@berkeley.edu

Kennedy, B

Professor

 Buck Institute

 bkennedy@buckinstitute.org

Lamba, D

Associate Professor

 Buck Institute

 dlamba@buckinstitute.org

Lithgow, G

Professor

 Buck Institute

 glithgow@buckinstitute.org

McMurray, C

Professor

 LBNL

 ctmcmurray@lbl.gov

Melov, S

Professor

 Buck Institute

 smelov@buckinstitute.org

Ramanathan, A

Assistant Professor

 Buck Institute

 aramanathan@buckinstitute.org

Rando, T

Professor

 Stanford University

 rando@stanford.edu

Schaffer, D

Professor

 UCB

 schaffer@berkeley.edu

Schilling, B

Research Associate Professor

 Buck Institute

 bschilling@buckinstitute.org

Tainer, J

Professor

 LBNL

 jatainer@gmail.com

Verdin, E

Professor

 Buck Institute

 everdin@buckinstitute.org

Wyss-Coray, T

Professor

 Stanford University

 twc@standford.edu

Yaswen, P

Professor

 LBNL

 p_yaswen@lbl.gov

Zeng, X

Associate Professor

 Buck Institute

 xzeng@buckinstitute.org

TO APPLY FOR A POSTDOCTORAL TRAINING SLOT

Individuals wishing to apply for a position on this training grant should contact a preceptor on the list -- send the preceptor a CV, cover letter, and a list of three references. The preceptor will then submit an application to the Training Program.

SUCCESSFUL CANDIDATES WILL BE CHOSEN ON THE BASIS OF THE FOLLOWING CRITERIA:

1) Quality as determined by publications, awards and recommendations, commitment to a career in basic aging and/or age-related disease research, and relevance of the training project to aging or age-related disease.
2) Collaborative projects between one or more preceptors, particularly inter-institutional projects, will be given special consideration.
3) As required by NIH, trainees must be US citizens or permanent residents. Please verify. 

Share:
Change text size:
smaller

default

bigger